Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the types of family nowadays had been changed into a smaller scale, some people believe the extended family is not as important as before. I strongly agree with that opinion. Most people do not live with many extended family nowadays which makes their advice less accountable. Relationships can be decrease as the physical distance between family members. Extended family can be replaced by friends since the Internet is so improving that it is easy to chat with people who share the same hobbies with us and rely on their thoughts.

The extended family seldom live with most of us now, which lead their suggestions impact us merely than the past. For example, which school should a child enter is a vital issue for many families, in the past, extended family like older cousins and uncles can offer their experiences. However, extended family no longer live with us, we tend to ask our neighbors or closer friends.

Because extended family is not living with people usually unlike the old days.

Strong links between family members is hard to build than the past. It is quiet understandable since we can hardly see our extended family face to face if we do not live in the nearby areas. The relationships are weaker than the past when many family members including extended family lived together and gather a small valley.

The Internet enhance the people who share the same values meet each other. It is undeniable that sometimes we hold a better relationship with our friends than the extended family. The advance of technology brings social networks and social media which create many relation webs like soccer clubs or online chatting rooms only for specific groups and so on. For instance, we are highly possible to ask our friends on snack lover club about what kind of cookie is tasty rather than ask an extended family who does not have any interest in snacks.

Families now are live together in a smaller size than the past and which extended family is excluded can hardly provide practical advice on many aspects. The physical length between people and their extended families can also lengthen the spiritual distances. We can count on online friends instead of extended family in the modern world. The extended family is less important now than the past is unavoidable.