Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should be paid according to how much their students learn. Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In this day and age, the education sector is crucial as there have been various policies regarding payment for teachers. One such is that the extent to which their students learn determines the salary of teachers. From my perspective, I am not in favor of this statement.

The first point to bear in mind is that in theory, this method might sound an ingenious as well as an innovative idea. However, when put in reality, the fact that teachers getting paid based on how much their students learn may prove impractical and impossible to achieve. There has been no ingenious way of assessing accurately how much a student learns. Therefore, this would be extremely unfair for teachers if their salaries depend on the amount of knowledge their students learn. Furthermore, the prospect of the teaching profession is already failing to attract talented and well-rounded individuals. If governments put the mentioned policy into practice, it will surely make the outlook for teaching seem even more daunting. Thus, there is every likelihood that the education sector would be lacking in human resources. Conclusively, the policy is not only impossible to adopt, but it also negatively affects the quantity of workforce of the education sector.

Another point to mention is that paying teachers for the evaluation of how much their students learn might cause detrimental impacts on the quality of teaching. Because of the condition that the more students learn, the more teachers get paid, it seems schooling is turning into a competition of academic performance. As a result, this might prompt teachers to use dishonest methods so that their students get as high scores as possible. Therefore, it would increase their salaries, regardless of whether their students learn or not. Besides, not all students can study well; some are even unable to grasp the most basic concepts. Consequently, with the little salaries teachers earn, they would feel demoralized in teaching those slow-witted students. Without question, the mentioned policy would cause adverse effects on the quality of teaching.

In conclusion, the policy that the salaries of teachers are determined by how much knowledge their students gain is not quite a good idea. After my meticulous analysis, the mentioned policy not only makes the prospect of the educational profession bleaker, but it also has profound effects on the quality of teaching.