Some people say that in the modern world it is very difficult for people to have a healthy lifestyle. Others, however, say that it is easy for people to be healthy and fit if they want to be.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, the rapid development and advances in the modern world mean that it would be hard to live healthily. Nevertheless, many people hold the view that if people genuinely want to get in good shape, they will eventually make it regardless of how their circumstances are. From my point of view, whether people can maintain a healthy lifestyle depends on their willpower, not their circumstances.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the world has changed radically along with enormous advances and rapid development in technology. As a result, the world of work seems to be more demanding than ever before. Thus, it has apparently become a common sight to see people working long hours, from early morning till late night. Astonishingly, some companies even encourage people to work overtime. Similarly, these days students seem to be under constant pressure from loads of homework as well as assignments. Especially before important examinations, most students tend to burn the midnight oil to study, even stay up all night long. Therefore, it seems difficult to maintain a healthy routine with such tight schedules and loads of work awaiting. Besides, most people do not bother to take exercise anymore owing to the easy access to the Internet. Rather than going outside and do some physical activities, apparently many people prefer to be a couch potato, staring at the screen all day. Conclusively, the modern world does contribute to making it harder to stay healthy and fit.

On the other hand, it seems that people would greatly benefit from the development of the modern world. For instance, there are enormous free lessons available which provide invaluable pieces of advice about how to eat clean as well as basic physical exercises. Moreover, most cities nowadays accommodate a wide range of local amenities, including gyms, swimming pools, sports stadiums, and so forth. Convincingly, people can take great advantage of these amenities to keep fit and stay healthy. However, what counts is whether people are determined enough to maintain a healthy lifestyle. If people genuinely want to get fit and stay in good shape, they will kick the habits that are harmful to their health and set aside some time to do exercise. In other words, as long as people have the willpower to stay healthy, they will eventually succeed, no matter how busy they might be.

In conclusion, even though loads of work and assignments do contribute to making it difficult to live healthily, people can still maintain a good lifestyle as long as they are determined enough.