In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Owing to the rapid development of technology, everyone now can enjoy the benefit of reading everything online free of charge. Nevertheless, it may lead to the obsolescence of newspapers and printed books as nobody will bother to buy them anymore. From my perspective, at no time will printed books and newspapers become forgotten.

On the one hand, the enormous benefits of reading online are undeniable. Firstly, now there are a vast number of books to read available thanks to the help of the Internet. It is evident that compared to going to a bookshop, we can get access with ease to a much larger number of books to choose from. And the best thing about this is that there is no need for readers to pay any charges. Secondly, reading online gives us an advantage over printed books and newspapers when it comes to convenience. For example, it is much more convenient to read on a portable tablet or kindle at any time and anywhere than to bring a 300-page thick printed book. Therefore, reading books online is preferable to reading printed ones.

On the other hand, printed books, as well as newspapers, will not become obsolete regardless of the popularity of reading online. To begin with, printed textbooks will possibly remain its importance as the primary teaching material in the classroom, as not everyone can afford to buy an Internet-connected device to read for the purpose of studying. Another point to mention is that reading online too much will certainly do our eyes a lot of harm, especially for the old. Because of their deteriorating vision and the fact that they have difficulty getting accustomed to electronic devices, reading online is unsuitable for old people. Last but not least, there exist the so-called bookworms who have a great passion for reading as well as collecting printed books. Therefore, at no time will printed books and newspapers get replaced by online ones.

In conclusion, whereas online books are not only diverse in range but also free of charge, printed books do have some advantages which reading online cannot offer. Hence, in the future, people will continue to buy printed books and newspapers regardless of the enormous benefits of reading online.