Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, many people hold the view that unpaid community service should be encouraged and therefore made obligatory as a part of high school programmers. From my perspective, I agree with this statement.

The first point to bear in mind is that supporting the community is considered one of the primary responsibilities of a righteous and dutiful citizen. It is especially crucial to the youth in high schools who have just gained strong awareness and growing perception. Because there always exist poor and unfortunate people, society needs more and more energetic people who are willing to work for the sake of others. However, many people believe that children are too young to do voluntary work; meanwhile, adults are too busy with their work. Therefore, adolescents are considered suitable and competent enough to do unpaid community service. Furthermore, by encouraging high school students to do voluntary work, they would later develop their moralities as well as virtues.

Another point to mention is that doing unpaid community service is an invaluable experience. Doing voluntary work is indeed the opportunity to enhance some soft skills such as communication, time management, collaboration, leadership, initiative, and so on. Without a doubt, these skills are certainly a useful tool for high school students to get a well-paid job in the future. Moreover, by helping and interacting with people, adolescents would develop a great sense of confidence and self-esteem, thus resulting in a well-rounded development for high school students.

In conclusion, doing unpaid community service is an urgent duty of a righteous citizen. Besides, it is an invaluable experience that brings enormous benefits, both for the society and students themselves. Consequently, high school programs should include doing unpaid community service as a mandatory part.