Some people think that men and women have different qualities. Therefore, some certain jobs are suitable for men and some jobs are suitable for women.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The subject concerning genders has always been a controversial one. Males possess quite distinct traits from those of females. Consequently, many people hold the view that men seem to be more qualified for some particular occupations, and vice versa. From my point of view, although each gender indeed has its characteristics, any jobs are entirely appropriate for both men and women.

On the one hand, it is a universal truth that the qualities of men differ very much from those of women. Specifically, it has been scientifically proven that men are generally taller and heavier in weight compared to women; therefore, they possess more physical prowess. Thus, it is quite a common sight to see men doing jobs that require considerable physical strength. For instance, men have always outnumbered women in the construction industry. Meanwhile, women are bestowed with a much gentler nature along with higher emotional quotients. Hence, the majority of workers in careers that require a greater degree of tenderness and flexibility, such as kindergarten teachers, babysitters, and nurses, are female. Conclusively, it seems that people tend to set boundaries for job opportunities between men and women.

On the other hand, it would be wrong to assume that men are incapable of doing the so-called female jobs and the same for women. It is worth remembering that whether a person can do a particular job is determined by their knowledge, qualifications, and experience, not by their gender. In modern society, gender should not be seen as a hindrance to doing certain occupations. Women have proved themselves that they can do jobs that people once thought only suitable for men. To illustrate, in wartime Viet Nam, there were many bomb disposal squads which consisted of mostly women. Men, by contrast, are also involved in jobs that people once considered for women, such as chefs or obstetricians. These have blurred the boundaries for occupations between males and females.

In conclusion, even though each gender has its distinct qualities, there is no job that is suitable for one sex and inappropriate for the other. Instead, men and women have equal chances of doing whatever jobs they are interested in.