More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

In the modern world, the number of private cars is increasing dramatically and shows no sign of stopping followed by the development of technology. As a result, more and more people are becoming overly dependent on the private cars as their main way of travelling. From my perspective, excessive usage of cars will inevitably bring about no end of dire consequences, and there are a few things we can do about it.

Admittedly, there are many adverse effects when a great number of private cars are in use. To begin with, car emissions are a crucial factor in contributing to air pollution as well as global warming. Should more and more people drive cars, the atmosphere will soon become rife with noxious exhaust fumes. Another point to mention is that traffic congestion is bound to be a perennial problem as a result of numerous cars on the roads. It is without question that the traffic will frequently come to a dead standstill especially in rush hours due to the massive size of a private car.

Nevertheless, a number of actions can be taken to tackle this phenomenon. First and foremost, every individual should take up using public transport such as trains, buses, and so on in order to keep as many cars off the roads as possible. Moreover, consider riding a bike or going on foot for short-distance travels. Furthermore, the government should also intervene by imposing heavier taxes on those owning a car, thus reducing the number of cars existing on the roads.

In conclusion, the fact that people are placing too much reliance on private cars for travel creates profound impacts on both humans and the environment; ergo, not only civilians but also the authorities are responsible for undertaking this problem.