More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation.

Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

We live in an age when many of us prefer the usage of privately owned vehicles over any public transport, as our primary mode of transportation. This increasing usage of private vehicles is associated with some major issues that we are facing today. This essay will examine some problems related to this and also the possible solutions if any.

A privately owned vehicle is a much more luxurious mode of transportation than any other. But heavy usage of private vehicles has also brought various problems. The main problem is the amount of air pollution they can spread, for instance, we have witnessed many times the toxic fumes coming out of the exhaust pipe of a running vehicle, which adds in polluting air. Traffic congestion is also an issue that we face today, for example, if everyone is about to prefer private vehicles, then traffic on the roads will be astonishingly higher. Moreover, the rate of consumption of fossil fuels will get even faster which will lead to the extinction of it much earlier, a potential threat on its own. What is more, not traveling through public transport can greatly impact the livelihood of people working in it, as there will be no jobs left in this particular field.

Well, there is always a solution to every problem in this world, you just have to make little effort for it. There are possible solutions that must be implemented to prevent us from facing these issues in our daily life. Governments must run various campaigns, spreading awareness among people about the potential threats which are related to the extreme usage of private vehicles and must be encouraging them to prefer public transport instead. For instance, in the city of Delhi, a law was imposed to bring out only the oddly numbered cars for one particular day and even on the next day. This helped a lot in maintaining the traffic around. Every family must not buy a separate private car for all of its members, which purely exaggerate these problems, this is also squandering of money.

To conclude, there are some potential issues that arise due to the heavy usage of privately owned vehicles. However, we can include some solutions in our daily life to stay away from these problems like everyone must try to commute themselves through public transport over using private cars and owning one car for a family of three to four would be enough to be pragmatic.