Eating too much sugar is harmful to our health. Some people think that it is the government responsibility to limit people's sugar consumption, while others think that it is an individual's responsibility to limit people's sugar they eat. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Eating habits are directly related to health. If people have good eating habits then they will ultimately live a healthy life. An excessive amount of sugar is dangerous for health. A particular sector of people considers that the government should control the number of sugar people eat. However, the opposing sector opines that a person is himself responsible for restricting sugar in the diet. The following paragraph discusses both the views prior to giving my opinion.

To begin with, the government of a nation has the power to amend the laws for the betterment of the public and the country as well. Thus, the government can allocate a dietary plan for all age groups which contains the amount and source of sugar they can consume. Moreover, the government can provide fruits and some other sources of natural sugar to poverty-stricken people. In addition, various health campaigns and nutritional education should be imparted to the public that will encourage people to cut off sugar from their diet.

On the other side, if an individual does not take efforts to modify the diet then the government's policies would be futile. Therefore, it is crucial that masses should take care of their sugar intake. These days, there are ample of gadgets which can help the people to keep a track on their diet and eat a balanced amount of all the nutrients especially sugar. Furthermore, the packed food has the details of the ingredients used to prepare the food. Thus, people can calculate their sugar intake conveniently. Scientifically, the consumption of sugar varies from person to person depending upon their age, gender, occupation etcetera.

In conclusion, I opine that it is totally an individual's responsibility to limit the amount of sugar because it could deteriorate their health. The government cannot compel the public to change their dietary pattern unless they themselves are willing to change.