Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best solution to traffic congestion?

Bicycle is the most convenient and inexpensive mode of transportation. These days, ample of nations are expending money to promote bicycle use among public by making is more easier to use. There are several reasons behind this pay out. Although this is not only the optimum way to overcome the traffic problem, many other amendments are also required.

To commence with, the government of various countries is spending money on constructing the roads and footpaths that are allotted to cyclists and pedestrians only. For instance, in Canada, there are many roads which have special lanes for cyclists and no other vehicle can enter in this lane that ensures the safety of bicycle riders. Undoubtedly, many other countries are increasingly following this practice to reduce traffic and protect the environment from harmful gases omitted by motor vehicles. In addition, cycling help people to stay healthy, while riding to work, they also do physical excercise. This keeps an individual fit and prevent serious health issues such as hypertension and diabetes.

Admittedly, this practice can help to reduce traffic to some extent. Apart from this, there are numerous other strategies that are equally essential to halt the problem of traffic congestion. To elaborate, widening of roads, building highways, encouraging people to use public transit are also some measures which should be looked by the government.

To conclude, promoting bicycles is an imperative step towards diminishing traffic jams. However, other measures should not be overlooked by government as they are also crucial to solve this issue.