People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effects does it have on an individual and society?

These days, sleeping pattern changed to a great extent in previous few years. People sleep less than required standard time for a sound sleep in this modern era as compared to earlier period. There are several reasons for this changed sleeping pattern and it has many effects on people and society which are further described in the paragraph.

To start with, the major cause of altered sleep pattern is stress. In this fast pace world, an individual has to achieve success in the desired profession to live a better life. Therefore, a person have to pursue good education and find an occupation or set up a business. While endeavouring to accomplish these goals an individual deals with a lot of stress that leads to insomnia. The second cause of this problem is advancement in technology. Nowadays, there are ample of gadgets which attracts almost all the groups. These devices contain many applications that can indulge a person for 24 hours. Moreover, internet also contributes to this problem as it is the source of entertainment and people use it before going to bed on their mobile phones and waste their sleeping time.

Furthermore, sleeping less than 7 hours can cause various health issues. Scientists have proven that less sleep can lead to neurological problems such as demensia and amnesia. In addition, if a person have not slept enough he will feel tired and irritable for the day. Sleeping less also have bad impacts on society. If a person is sleepless, he can potentially be irritable or may have bad temper, this will make him unsociable. Moreover, children can imitate him and show ill behavior in the society.

To conclude, having less sleep than normal has become common in this era. However, this has many negative effects on individual and society. Thus, masses should maintain a healthy lifestyle by eating and sleeping well so that they can become a good example for the next generation.