Essay 6 Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that the opportunity to attend tertiary education is equal for every individual and that the government should provide free education for all students irrespective of their financial capacity. While this suggestion might be beneficial for students coming from low-income families, I maintain that it will put a heavier burden on the national budget and negatively affect students' attitudes toward study.

On the one hand, the idea of supplying free higher education is reasonable to some extent. It is undeniable that an exemption to tuition fees means that people from lower socioeconomic backgrounds can have a chance to pursue university. As the price of taking a course at university is relatively costly nowadays, many impoverished students can not afford these costs and they have to drop out of school to begin their working life. Therefore, with financial support from the government in terms of tuition fees, these students can continue their studies and have more opportunities to secure a variety of well-paid jobs after graduating from university.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why the provision of free university fees will adversely influence the state budget and students’ learning attitude. The first reason is that in order to supply education without charge for every individual,it requires a huge amount of money. As a result, it will put a strain on the national fund, and a variety of essential aspects that need government investment will be delayed. The second reason involves the degradation in students’ determination towards their studying. This is because it costs students nothing to retake a failed subject at university, they will take it for granted and do not pay attention to academic outcomes.

In conclusion, although the exemption of university learning costs regardless of students’ financial conditions will do wonders for disadvantaged students, I contend that the problems resulting from this phenomenon should also not be ignored. In my view, it is a better option for the government to financially support university students according to their financial circumstances.