Essay Topic : Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion

The question of whether school or parents should teach children how to be good society members is widely debated. There are valid arguments on both sides of this controversial topic, which I will discuss now.

On the one hand, some people feel that it might be wise for children to absorb societal codes of conduct at school, for the time they spend in a typical school day. School environment provides students with practical skills such as discipline, punctuality and patience which represent a good citizen. A further reason to be wary of this idea is teacher’s neutrality in judging them. While parents’ judgement is biased, for they adore their children, teachers can evaluate them from different perspective.

On the other hand, though, people opposed to the notion above point to the influence of parents over children. Children have a tendency to imitate their parents, which could be a positive effect as long as parents act as good role models. Secondly, it is advisable for parents to establish ground rules to developing proper social conventions and attitudes. Lastly, it is said that parents spend a substantial amount of time with their children and this can be one more way of teaching moralities of life. It is hard to become a better and valuable person in the future without morally accepted behavior, after all.

Overall, I tend to believe that child behavior is a delicate matter, which should carefully be developed by parents in the lead and the school playing its supportive role.