Establishing good relationships in the workplace is not important, as the primary goal of every person is to focus on work.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is often argued that developing workplace friendships is not important, because the main goal of each person is to concentrate on their careers. I totally disagree with this statement and think that forming friendships with colleagues is more beneficial for human beings than focusing on work.

First of all, I believe that human nature is arranged in such way that after the basic core needs (shelter and food) humanity has the urgent demand in companionship. In other words, real friendship is the key to people's mental health and happiness. However, as the average workweek continues to expand, employees can no longer be fulfilled without befriending their colleagues. Thus, people try to form strong bonds, even long-term friendships with their co-workers. There is a lot of evidence that workplace friendships fulfill the basic human need for companionship. For example, recent research revealed that 70 percent of employees said having friends at work is the most crucial element to a happy working life.

Secondly, I think that maintaining friendships with people at work is not only socially healthy for workers; it is also a great way to learn about areas of the business outside of their team, expertise, and skill. In other words, employees get access to information about a company where they work through informal networks. This helps to create a more comprehensive understanding of what the company is working towards, how other departments operate, and reveal some of the organization's pain points, which in turn allow people more effectively collaborating on common projects. Thus, it is beneficial when friendships have place in the working team not only for employees but for whole organization in general, increasing its productivity and competitiveness.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that to forge friendships in the office is more advantageous for people than to focus on working duties because it makes people happy and the organization to thrive.