Some people think that couples should live together before getting married to start knowing each other better and see if they are compatible. Others say that because of this tendency people become immoral and only deep emotional attachment makes a durable alliance. What is your opinion?

Nowadays living together before marriage becomes very common. While some people think that cohabiting with one's significant other before marriage helps couples to test their compatibility in the long-term vision, others describe premarital cohabitation in pejorative terms and often think that this phenomenon is immoral. I believe that in most cases living together prior to marriage is a welcome development in human relationships.

Firstly, I think that couples who have already tried the proposition of living together before marriage, and intimately tested their compatibility, can make a better-informed decision whether or not to get married. In other words, getting to know another person's advantages and disadvantages takes time and cohabitation is one of the best solutions which can provide a more solid and successful common future. For example, a recent survey showed that today, in Ukraine two thirds of happy marriages are preceded by cohabitation.

Moreover, in my view, having often grown up as the products of divorce, people have come to see cohabitation as a low-risk way to test a marriage-like relationship and avoid the pitfalls of their parents. In fact, a vast majority of Ukrainian young adults believe that living together prior to marriage is an effective way to prevent divorce and ensure a happy union. Such approach of a new generation towards marriages is beneficial for whole country because of high rate of divorces due to the burdens of time when premarital cohabitation was less popular.

In conclusion, I think that living together before marriage includes a lot of benefits for young couples. Among them the main two are to start to know each other better due to check out the compatibility of one's significant other, and to gain confidence in the future, which will in turn provide insurance against divorces.