The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the advantages?

In the contemporary society the wide use of social media deprives people of real human interaction. This essay will argue against it because the advantages of modern digital world with variety opportunities for virtual communication via Internet outweigh the disadvantages of a lack of communication in real life.

The human beings by default have been programmed to be socially active and people always have been looking for ways to connect and network with each other. With the proliferation of advanced technology numerous social networking platforms, sites and applications appeared in free access through the Internet. This allowed people to be socially active, interact on social media, make audio/video calls to friends and relatives, post content or just make comments. As a result, people feel themselves as a part of the society, an element which functioned actively on social media and no longer alone. A recent survey, for example, found that many users on social networks admitted that virtual communication helps them to solve mental health issues such as stress from loneliness or even depression.

Although the advantages of social media are obvious, some still feel that Internet removes from people human communication. That is to say, human interaction teaches people valuable skills such as friendliness, discourse, debate, empathy, respect and tact and many believes that virtual communication could not provide this. It is reasonable to notice that social media does not replace face-to-face communication, rather changes its form to virtual, keeping all its advantages. For example, as per the statistics revealed on official Ukrainian site of statistic, approximately 95% of Ukrainian users used social networking platforms and applications in time of lockdown due to COVID-19.

In conclusion, the obvious benefits of virtual interaction on social media such as availability via Internet, variety social networking sites and free access to them clearly overweighs the flawed argument that social media is removing human interaction.