An increasing number of people are now using dating sites to meet their second halves. Do you think that this tendency helps people to socialize or does more harm than good?

Give your opinion. Provide relevant examples if necessary.

Nowadays more and more people begin relationships on social media or dating sites. In my opinion, I agree that online dating is a welcome development and it tends to help people to socialize. However, I also believe that dating online provides individuals with access to many more potential partners then they could often find in their daily lives.

Online dating offers a number of ways to get to know each other before meeting in person. Such computer-mediated communication allows for safe and convenient interaction without much risk. For many shy-confident, self-conscious and anti-social persons it is an excellent way to strike up a healthy relationship without fear of being rejected or ridiculed. For example, a 2019 psychological study found that many Ukrainian online daters confirmed that for them online dating is the best solution for an initial connection with their potential second halves.

In addition, meeting someone online equips the individuals with quick access to a vast amount of possible dating partners from the virtual world. This is especially true for people interested in partners of a particular type, orientation, lifestyle, or in isolated areas. Despite the fact that some people can get stuck endlessly looking for the perfect partner, many others, for instance, narrow their search to a small location, a certain set of "must have" features and talk to those who make the list.

In conclusion, considering internet as way to engagement with potential partners and not mistaking it with actual relationship is of the utmost importance to minimize risk and protect own mental health. Moreover, having choices is wonderful, but online daters should keep them manageable if they want an actual face-to-face dating interaction.