The government should reduce the amount of money spend on local environmental problems and instead increase funding into urgent and more threatening issues such as global warming. To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that the government should minimize investments in improving the local environment and instead spend money on such crucial problems as global warming and climate change. This essay agrees with that suggestion completely because of benefits it brings to the world and in particular the local environment. This essay will first discuss the effects caused by global warming on the environment and then demonstrates the effects on humans.

Global warming and climate change is the most significant issue that the world is facing today. There are enormous reasons which lead to global warming such as over-farming, industrial activities or fossil fuel emissions, but the amount of the effects on the environment even bigger. This includes, for example, climate variability that leads to habitat destruction. As a result, the world witnesses ecosystem collapses and biodiversity losses which can cause extinction to many species. For example, resent research revealed that continuous temperature changes led to death of a large amount of living creatures in the Artic.

In addition, it is reasonable to notice that global warming and climate change significantly impact on human beings. That is to say the ice melting regularly raises sea level and this leads to flooding or an opposite process - drought of cities and farmland. Such damage has considerable consequences that can cause human migration and conflicts which appeared due to overpopulation of new places for living and/or famine for those who decided to stay on native land. For instance, in May 2020 African officials reported that starvation for many African countries became the new normal due to such natural cataclysm as drought.

In conclusion, this essay supports the idea to increase amount of investments in soling such threatening and urgent issues as global warming and climate change because of damage it causes to the natural environment, to ecosystems and human societies.