Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor.

What are some of the reasons for world poverty? How can the poor be helped?

Poverty which causes numerous types of effects to societies is a broad problem all over the world, and more money than ever before is being spent on trying to reduce the poverty rate. The reasons why countries have poor people are countless, but unaffordable educational systems, high crime rate and abuse of drugs and alcohol play a major role. To solve these problems, government could either adapt the academic systems, or draconian the punishments for criminality and tackle with the rehabilitation of narcotics.

One of the main causes of poverty is the high-cost, long-time educational system that makes a group of students from non-wealthy families give up studying at schools and start to work on unskilled jobs. While the pays are so little and the prices are so high, they get further away from being better off. On the other hand, high crime rate is said to be the vital reason for poverty and different social problems such as single-parent family. The use, sale and trafficking of drugs are also important factors behind poverty. There are many people who take those kinds of narcotics ending up getting broke.

A number of measures could be done to address the effects of poverty. Firstly, government could improve education opportunities through reform on scholarship, to give more opportunities for poor students to access to school. Secondly, government may toughen the criminal law and long the custodial sentences. Thus, people would dare not to commit crime easily as much as before. Or to address the problem of poverty connected with drugs, government may simply fund more on drug and alcohol rehabilitation programs.

In conclusion, poverty is a complicated problem related to different aspects of a society. By advancing the changes on educational policies, criminal law and governmental financial support, a lot of problems would be addressed as well together with poverty.