Every thousands of student go overseas to study. Although many benefit from the experience, others go home disappointed. What are the benefits and drawbacks of studying in another country?

Studying abroad is becoming prevalence in recent years and the widespread migration of students has caused different arguments. Some group of people claim that studying overseas has many benefits for all students in different ages. While others contend that this may cause difficulties for them. To a certain point of view, it seems that this issue may open new doors to students. However, we can not overlook its adversities. This essay will deal with arguments of both sides of this controversial issue and give a conclusion.

On the one hand, those people who are in favour of studying abroad subject express their views cogently. First of all, many students want to attend a prestigious university to pursue their academic educations in higher levels. These universities often employ best teachers around the world and offer courses with high qualifies. Therefore, in long-term, when they return home, they get better job opportunities. Secondly, students who are studying in foreign countries learn to become more independent. They live far from their families; so they are responsible for cooking, cleaning and other chores. Finally, they are exposed to various cultures and languages. They will learn new language and start to communicate with new people who have new customs. Thus it opens student’s mind to new ideas.

By contrast, those who are against studying abroad have reasons that can not be ignored. The most obvious drawbacks are language barrier and culture conflict. This means that living in a country which have different language and culture could be challenging. If students could not adapt to these different styles, they encounter with many problems. For instance, when a student is not fluent in host country’s first language, he or she should conquer with communication problems. In result of these problems, they become alone and feel depressed. Moreover, tuition fees for overseas students are higher than native students. Admittedly they can receive funds and discounts from universities. Notwithstanding, they either have to work hard or ask for financial helps from their families.

Overall it is logical to conclude that, in spite of the all hardships, studying in a foreign country is a positive experience and gives students new insights into the world.