Every year several languages die out every year. Some people think that it is not important because life will be easier when there are fewer languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There has been a growing dominance of some main languages as a result of globalization in the past 50 years. While some people argue that the loss of some minor languages helps to facilitate our lives and the increasing integrated economy, there still remain arguments that the disappearance of language can lead to the death of some cultures and making lives far more momentous. In my personal point of view, although the integration of using one language is necessary to the prosperity of trade and commerce, it consequently harms the diversity of cultures.

First of all, it is indisputable that language is intimately bound up with culture, thus the death of language can have negative impact on the survival of culture. Some customs, traditional norms and values are transmitted from generations to generations through words of mouth. Take the case of the increasing prevalence of English as a salient example. Nowadays, many children are taught English from a very young age for the sake of better future career path and even have no idea about mother tongue. Therefore, the interaction between old generations with younger generation is limited, which results in the inhibition of passing down culture to descendants.

Further more importantly, the loss of several languages makes lives far more momentous and less colorful rather than convenient. Some people like to travel to discover and experience diverse lifestyles in the world. When the world is the similar, experience new and thrilling things seems meaningless. There may be no motivation for learning new language and for finding out about mystery of other cultures, which eventually makes lives far more boring.

All in all, despite the huge benefits that using the same languages can bring to the wealth of economy, I strongly disagree that some languages are not important and should be erased. In the future, I believe that a campaign in terms of preserving and developing languages should be adopted for the sake of maintaining variety of cultures.