Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, according to centralization of job opportunities and welfare in the cities and invasion of growing population to live in big cities and their vicinity, most of urban and even suburban areas have commenced to sprawl widely. In this way extending distances between destinations is the inevitable result of this phenomenon leads to need for improved roads and railways. Spending money on either roads or railways is a widely debated issue that I try to delve its pros and cons in the following essay.

To begin with, the incredible growth of private transportation accompanies with a hefty amount of disadvantages, including traffic congestion or detrimental environmental effects such as air pollution; the irrefutable fact which both opponents and adherents of venture mainly on the roads, alike do concur with that. Additionally, safety and human mistakes during driving is another factor that jeopardizes the health and security of people. The high rate of fatal accidents is the salient and tangible example.

On the flip side, launching, refinement and maintenance of public transportation methods such as railways require the adequate financial backing from governments. This expenditure not only constitute of establishing its infrastructure and equipping railways with the best standardized facilities, but also comprise of better quality and quantity of public vehicles, simultaneously. For instance, just only in affluent cities we could use high-qualified public transportation and exploit the punctual services with spacious compartments frequently. Furthermore, in mega cities such as Tehran long distances makes it unaffordable to commute with public transportation; so in some occasions, the railways are not considered as economic options.

In a nutshell, it seems that the disadvantages of investment on railways are eclipsed by its advantages in the sense that with a long-term effective scheme, government authorities can harness the power of railways in order to declining pollution, traffic and safety perils.