Every year several languages die out every year. Some people think that it is not important because life will be easier when there are fewer languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people subscribe to the view that speaking fewer languages, as well as lingua franca, would be more plausible and highly efficient for a sustainable life. However, I personally do not entirely accept this, and I will discuss why in this essay.

Firstly, if the mother languages and local dialects were on the verge of extinction, local dwellers would have to contend with the major issue of cultural identity. No matter how widely-used an alternative language is, the cultural traditions and mythologies, which are handed down between generations, will be inevitably replaced by alien contexts and stereotypes. This is perhaps tremendously influential because can affect the fabric of society and social standards. A further widely-observed impact might be that a wealth of information and knowledge, written exclusively in a local language, could be progressively overlooked. This is simply problematic since a considerable number of literary and scientific resources will be eventually anonymous for new generations. For instance, some valuable medical literatures which were written by Avicenna, an internationally well-known scientist, has not been intelligible for the contemporary students, particularly in Iran.

On the other hand, it is true that an universal language as a lingua franca may be of great benefits to mutual understanding between those from a diverse cultural and geographical backgrounds. Nevertheless, it seems that for many older inhabitants these pleasures are weighted down by issues which can cause social isolation and psychologic disadvantages.

All things considered, it seems sensible to elucidate that if local languages were not effectively conserved, the cultural context and heritage, and historic literatures would be threatened with extinction, gradually making a remarkable change in the area of social norms.