Every year several languages die out. Some people think that it is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is commonly believed that many languages tend to disappear as the years pass by. Some individuals argue that the lost of many languages is not paramount due to the fact that life would become straightforwardly without them. This essay agrees with this statement and will first explain how less number of languages in the planet could permit greater conexion between people and secondly the lack of necessity of teaching them as a compulsory subject in schools.

To begin with, less number of languages in the world could lead to better communication skills between people from different backgrounds. Therefore, misinformation could be avoided and several aspects of life will be easier. To say in other words, people from every single place in the world could be able to understand each other in a straightforward manner. To illustrate this, Africa has lost 10 languages in the last century and a recent study has proven that nowadays most of the African countries talk in English, thus they have improved the communication between them and the entire world.

On the other hand, it is crucial to reduce the number of subjects to teach in school. This is because in modern times there are plethora of things to learn and decreasing the teaching hours of foreign languages would encourage youngsters to enhance other skills. There is no reason why studying other languages when children could manage this study time to learn for example how to play an instrument.

To conclude, although a large number of languages are disappearing, this could be beneficial for everyone. Since it might improve connexion between people from different cultures and in addition would not be necessary to include as a formal subject of a school curriculum.