Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that talking with someone is stronger than communicating by writing in a paper.

This essay disagrees with this statement and will first claim that written statements are more durable than oral ones, secondly, it will explain that things that are written are clearer to understand.

To begin with, written expressions cannot be modified and keep the same status as the time pass by. That is to say that written things can be read in different moments. As a consequence, written expressions can be interpreted by anyone who access that document. In contrast, something that is spoken is heard only once and this result in less number of listeners. For example, a scientific article is aim to be read by many people, not as well as an oral conference at a meetting, where only the present people are fortunates to hear the discourse.

On the other hand, spoken language can be misunderstood. This is because gestures often change the meaning of what someone is trying to express. For instance, is really common for a driver who is lost and need an advise, to misinterpretate the oral instructions of the advisor, due to the fact that it might misunderstand the body gestures of the latter to indicate the route. Hence, this type of communications would be more clear if they are explained and written in a piece of paper.

To conclude, although oral comunication is paramount for living in this planet, I disagree that is more stronger than writing owing to the fact that written things lead to a clearer understanding and also stay longer in time.