Films were produced by big companies in the past, but today people are able to make a film.

Do you think this trend is positive or negative?

It is clear that in former times movies were created by huge enterprises, and in modern times individuals are capable to produce them. This essay will support the idea that as more people are creating films, more content is being generated, despite the fact of obtaining a less quality movie.

To begin with, the fact that nowadays people are able to produce their own movies, generates more content. That is to say that a plethora of different types of movies are being released. As a result, the audience is much higher than before. For example, in the past nearly all the films were created by Hollywood, this resulted in less diversity of movies since the managers had only one line of thoughts.

On the other hand, it is true that the quality of the recording devices of people cannot outperform the overwhelming quality that big companies movies possesses. As a consequence, this lead to a lack of special effects on many films. Therefore, it is argued that people are not encouraged to watch this type of films. However, as far as I am concerned, in modern times, the new computer softwares can modify certain scenes and generate gorgeous visual effects, hence, creating films by people is a positive development overall. To illustrate this, it is believed that the last Netflix series released was created by only one person with a smartphone and a laptop.

To conclude, although the quality of the movies generated by people is flowed/less compared to the ones of big enterprises, the fact of widening the spectrum of the content, generates a positive development overall.