People are having more and more sugar-based drinks.

What are the reasons?

What are the solutions to make people drink less?

There is no doubt that people is increasingly consuming more drinks with added sugar.

This essay will first argue that the reason for this is that population is exposed to a plethora of advertisements that encourage people to consume this type of products. Secondly, it will discuss that increased prices can lower consumption.

To commence with, the influence from excesive advertisements is the foremost cause of people drinking sugar-based products. Despite the fact that is well known that drinks with sugar might generate a negative impact for the health of the society, marketing still promote to people consuming them of on a daily basis. For example, every single day CocaCola company releases advertisements that attracts individuals for buying drinks with added sugar.

One possible solution for this issue is raising the price of sweet-based drinks. Therefore, sugar free beverages might increase in popularity due to the fact that adquiring a sugar drink would be expensive. In fact, governments should control enterprises that produce harmful drinks and impose levy for those who excced a certain sealing price. As a result, people would be encouraged to buy other kind of drinks. To illustrate this, in Australia, prices of sugar based beverages are so hight that nowadays people tend to buy more water.

To conclude, regardless of the potential harm that drinks with added sugar might generate, advertisements are constantly promoting people to consume them. Hence, to decrease consumption, prices of sweet-based drinks should rise dramatically and authorities should impose taxes to companies that sell them