Today, TV channels provide man's sport show more than women's sport show.

Why?

Should TV channel give equal time for women's sport and men's sport?

It is clear that in modern times the vast majority of the sports shows are related to man’s competitions rather than women’s sports events. This essay will first discuss that the reason for this is that males are more likely to achieve higher level of professionalism, secondly, this essay agrees that female sports events should be given the same amount of time on the sports channels because of the great incentive that could generate to young girls.

To begin with, the level of expertise in sports is usually higher in males than in females. Therefore, more man’s sports events are commonly seen in the TV. This is because the society is often more attracted to watch the highest level of competition in sports. For example, the end point of the Paris 42k marathon has always been reached firstly by a man due to the fact that men’s run faster than woman’s, hence, the people who watch sports channel want to see the faster score and put apart the woman’s performance.

On the other hand, female sports should be given the same importance in the TV due to the fact that they would encourage youngers to practice more sports. That is to say that If young girls are persuaded by sports channels to practice sports they will be more woman’s that become professionals. To illustrate this, Brazilian ESPN sports channel released 10 years ago a new tv show where they only provide women’s competitions on a daily basis. As a consequence, there are 20% more female Brazilian sports professionals than before.

To conclude, there is no doubt that mens are more likely to outperform in sports than women. Therefore, people have a preference on watching males competitions on TV. Besides this, TV woman’s sports events should be provided at the same frequency than man’s in order to encourage youngsters to become sport experts.