Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles.

Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that reading and practising word puzzles during their spare time are vital to enhancing their mental status, others claim that resting the brain is more advantageous. This essay will explore both sides of the argument and support for the former one.

There is no doubt that reading a book or playing mind games during free time enhance the creativity of a person. This is because this type of activities allow people to improve neuronal connexions and certain areas of the brain that makes the mind work more efficiently. As a result, individuals who spend spare time reading or training their minds with games outperform the ones who do not. For example, software programmers that work at Google company are known as the fastest in the world since they read and practice their mental flexibility during spare time. Hence, they can solve any web problem better and faster than any other programmer.

On the other hand, it is claimed that resting the mind helps to obtain peacefulness and relaxation. Therefore, people that rest their brains during leisure time are less likely to fatigue during worktime. To illustrate this, a recent survey by Harvard University found that individuals who take a nap or just rest in a balcony enjoying the landscape are happier at work and less stressed. However, I believe that developing high levels of relaxation could create laziness among workers and, to prevent this, is paramount to practice mental flexibility.

To conclude, although finding a relaxation status and peacefulness during free time can lead to a lower level of stress, I support the idea that training the mind with games or reading improves mental ability to face challenges.