Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind such as reading and doing word puzzles Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Through the ages leisure time was, is and will be playing the vital role and take noticeable place in humans' life. Consequently, some people think that spending free time on activities or hobbies that benefit their mind set is the best, while others state that it is more important to have psychological and mental rest. This essay will discuss both views and describe an opinion of the writer.

On the one hand, followers of the first statement are right in some extent. People, especially nowadays, spend most of their time on their work or study. Obviously, they do not have enough time to widen their horizons, expand their knowledge and improve their brainwork. To realise these ideas, people spend time reading books that contain a lot of useful information; listening to different scientific or other podcasts and interviews of researchers or scientists; learning playing chess or other games that could improve their mind; doing various puzzles and working out diverse jigsaws; reading phylosophical works that set forth the compound and deep thoughts or stories. Another reason of why people think so may be the case, when their occupation is completely related with their hobbies or when the job requires only physical strength.

But, conversely, upholders of the oppose opinion are right as well. At present days, in the majority of cases, labours are tightly related with mental work, thus based on this people think that this is an acceptable idea to spend the spare time on activities which can help to relax their brain. Especially if during the worktime humans do lots of mental work, having a rest is just necessary for their brains to recover. For example, they can listen to music, watch movies, chat with their family or friends, read books, but not in those large quantities. The brain can have a rest during physical activities too, therefore they can even dance, run, do some workouts, swim, play different games- whatever, or tidy up their apartments listening to music. All these activities, as mentioned earlier, can help to distract our brain from the daily routine of work and have a rest.

To conclude, from my point of view, I strongly believe that spending time on leisure activities is better, than doing that only on " really useful activities". But at the same time at least with some benefit for ourselves and our surrounding.