Extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that high risk sports such as paragliding or sliding on skis down the slopes are hazardous. Therefore, some people claim that this kind of sports should be restricted. This essay disagrees with this argument and will discuss a reasonable opinion about why this type of sport should not dissapear.

To begin with, all kinds of adventure sports such as scuba diving, snowboarding or kitesurfing may promote people to travel to exotic places. It is common to see risky sports being offered as a leisure activity by travel agencies, for the reason that people tend to be attracted by a new exciting activity. Therefore, traveling is a great opportunity to accomplish their wishes despite the fact that might represent a risk for the integrity of themselves. For example, visiting Hawaii is a nice occasion to practice surf since the waves conditions are perfect for water sports, however one should be aware of sharks surrounding the area. Nevertheless, I believe that the level of excitement that a person can reach trying this kind of sports overcome/outweigh any possible harm.

On the other hand, it is clear that the potential harm of this kind of activity is extremely low. The largest number of people who practice extreme sports do not experience any major damage, at least they suffer from small bruises. To illustrate this, recent research has demonstrated that parachuting is safer than cycling and running. Furthermore, practicing adventure sports may enhance people’s mental health. Those who practice that kind of sports tend to be more happy and optimistic on a daily basis. This is because they are always thinking about the next time they will practice thus their brain keeps enthusiastic. It has been proven that playing risky sports releases endorphins such as adrenaline that provoke a feeling of satisfaction and accomplishment.

To conclude, although extreme sports may represent a potential hazard to humans, in my opinion this sort of activity could encourage people to travel to tourist places and thus discover new experiences. Regardless of the risk they may represent, they should not be restricted owing to the fact that the proven harm is very little, in fact they enhance mental health.