People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

In this day and age, sugar-based beverages are being consumed by more and more people. There are a number of reasons behind this tendency and several solutions could be adopted to pacify these potential problems.

On the one hand, the dominance of sugar-based drinks can be attributable to two principal factors. To begin with, such drinks provide individuals with extra energy, increase their mental alertness and maintain focus on work and study. As a matter of fact, more and more people are living hectic lives, which require them to put greater effort in order to achieve goals, consequently leading to the popularity of sugar-based refreshment. Moreover, the increasing number of people consuming soft drinks is due to the lack of awareness and knowledge of a healthy diet and the ramifications of sugar-based drinks. Indeed, those consuming sugar-based beverages like Coca Cola or Pepsi only care about the benefits but ignore the aftermaths it might bring like the growing risk of diseases and violence or the state of being addicted.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to eradicate this problem. One possible solution to fight this menace would be the imposition of extra levy on the production and commercialization of sugar-based beverages, which would significantly increase the price of these drinks. As a result, this will have a huge impact on the number of sugar-based refreshments. Another essential measure is to raise public awareness of the importance of having a healthy diet and the consequence of overconsumption of these unhealthy drinks. For instance, more lessons on health and lifestyle could be taught in schools in order to aid students to prevent consuming unhealthy food and beverages.

In conclusion, the popularity of sugar-based drinks is caused by several factors and appropriate measures should be taken to tackle this dilemma.