Many people are now spending more and more time travelling to work or school. Some people believe that this is a negative development while others think there are some benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion

These days, many people are spending an increasing amount of time commuting to their workplace or school. Although there may be some benefits to this development, I believe it is mostly negative.

There are only a couple of benefits that people could possibly gain from having to spend large amounts of time travelling to and from work or school, which are mostly related to those who commute via public transport. Firstly, travelling on public transport can allow people time to get things done that they have been too busy to complete. For example, some school kids have to spend up to one hour travelling by bus every day and this is a great opportunity for them to get their homework done. Likewise, some adults may use this time to catch up on some unfinished work on their laptop, or plan their work schedule for the day. Furthermore, sitting on a bus or train is also a great time to relax and read a book.

However, not all people can take advantage of these benefits. For example, in Vietnam, only a small percentage of people use public transport and therefore have no opportunity to read or catch up on work. Instead, most people are stuck in traffic jams during rush hours, sitting on a motorbike breathing in toxic fumes from other vehicles, which in the long term can lead to a number of serious health issues. Additionally, spending more and more time commuting leaves less time for other more important activities, like spending time with loved ones, or pursuing one’s hobbies. And lastly, from my observations, when travelling on public transport these days, the majority of people are not reading or working, but keep their eyes glued to their smartphone browsing social media, which could be considered as an unhealthy waste of time.

Overall, I believe this is a negative development, however it really depends upon how people spend their time while travelling.