Is mental strength important for success in sport or is it more important to be strong and fit for success in sport?

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals believe that mental health is the key to success in sport while others express an opposing viewpoint that a person’s physical characteristics determine their level of performance. From my perspective, while the former view is plausible to a certain extent. I would side with those who support the latter argument.

On the one hand, those who advocate that mental condition is highly instrumental in sport tend to point out a combination of evident explanations. To begin with, it is undeniable that a mentally strong athlete is able to maintain momentum of motivation in a high-pressure environment like sport. For example, players participating in Esports will be put under pressure by their fans if they go wrong in tactics, therefore, it is extremely crucial for competitors to have strong mental conditioning in order to overcome public’s criticisms. Additionally, a strong mental health enables athletes to keep up with intense training sectors, especially in those sports that require strength and flexibility like marathon. This is because being trained under severe training sessions for a long time could easily discourage competitors’ will, as a result, a strong enough mental health aid sportsperson to keep determination and focus.

On the other hand, as sensible and beneficial as it is, I concur with those who advocate that physical health plays a key role in sports related activities. Firstly, most sports require participants to perform at a high level like running extremely fast or lifting or throwing things. If athletes are unable to meet severe standards related to physical health conditions, there is no chance for them to participate and get a prize. Furthermore, the possibility of physical accidents happening while entering sports competition or training is highly a sure thing, therefore, it is extremely essential to have a strong physical body in order to recover quickly. Indeed, WHO pointed out that football players with strong physical bodies recover completely from trauma within 3 - 6 months, while that for the physically unhealthy players is up to 1 year, proving the importance of having a strong physical health in sport.

In conclusion, as both dark and bright sides of the picture are noticed, it is understandable why many people firmly believe that mental health is extremely vital in sport, however, I am convinced that it is physical attributes that decide players’ success.