Some people think that children should aim to be the best at what they are doing while others

believe it is not necessary for them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some individuals believe that it is crucial for youngsters to set a goal of ranking the first in which they are pursuing while others assume that it is unnecessary for them. From my perspective, while the former view is plausible to a certain extent, I would side with those who support the latter argument.

On the one hand, those who advocate that aiming to the best should be considered by the young generation tend to point out a combination of evident explanations. The initial explanation is that setting a goal to be the best in any activities or areas may come in handy for young individuals to derive a great deal of motivation. In fact, if there is not any aim of ranking the first, hardly do the young people have perseverance and determination to follow what they desire. Another factor is that in order to stay focused on the progress, it is extremely essential for the young to aim to be the best. For example, without being determined and focused to give the best academic performance at school, children could easily get distracted by friends or other recreational pastimes which may cause a decline in academic results.

On the other hand, as sensible and beneficial as it is, I concur with those who advocate the view that there is no point in trying to be the best in what the young are doing. Initially, children being too competitive to get the best result possibly takes its toll on relationships. As a matter of fact, always trying to beat others can erode social relationships and dissuade collaborative behaviors because there is only one “first place” and just one can achieve that position. Additionally, being obsessed with the goal of ranking the first in any activities or areas can trigger various health problems. If a child is always put under pressure to get the first place in class, it is likely that this would lead to anxiety, anger and even autism if worse comes to worst.

In conclusion, as both dark and bright sides of the picture are noticed, it is understandable why many people believe that children should aim to get the highest positions in which they follow, however, I am convinced that it is not crucial for them..