Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that reading books is far more beneficial for children than watching TV or playing computer-based games. To my perspective, I disagree with those arguments as both of them are equally necessary and should be equally paid attention.

On the one hand, there is no question that reading stories from a book has brought with it a number of demerits. To begin with, as opposed to watching TV or playing computerized games, reading books can encourage fertile imagination. As a matter of fact, by reading books, children are encouraged to use their imagination in order to visualize events and characters described in books, and therefore enhance their imagination and creativity. Furthermore, it is reading books that helps to enrich children’s knowledge regarding their national cultures. For example, if children spend time on academic articles or textbooks regarding their country’s customs, not only do they broaden their knowledge on this field but also enhance national pride.

On the other hand, watching TV or playing electronic games exerts various advantages. Initially, playing online platform games is a wonderful tool for kids who struggle socially in real life since it highly facilitates social connection between players. Indeed, through playing together in these computerized games, kids are able to establish new relationships with people who share common interests. Moreover, watching TV can come in handy in terms of entertainment and relaxation. For instance, through humorous situations being shown, comedy programs on TV help to alleviate high levels of academic-related stress for kids after non-stop studying hours at school.

In conclusion, although it is generally accepted that watching TV or playing computer games are less favorable for children compared to reading books, I did not concur with those views as both are impossible to compare.