Ecotourism is now defined as a new form of travel to natural areas and many governments are encouraging ecotourism. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Some individuals believe that green tourism has been a new form of travel and is fostered by many governments. From my perspective, although there are both favourable and detrimental impacts associated with this tendency, I personally feel that it borders on being a more harmful than beneficial development in the long term.

On the one hand, the encouragement of sustainable tourism by governments is a welcome development for various reasons. The key benefit is that green tourism gives rise to the construction of many national parks or wildlife preserves. This helps protect many species from being in danger of extinction and at the same time, tourists can still see animals play in their natural habitats. Furthermore, sustainable tourism can help reduce our carbon footprint. For example, commuting when travelling is unavoidable, but in eco tours, tourists go by hybrid bus, or by animals, or even on foot, which helps to reduce the amount of carbon dioxide emission.

On the other hand, in spite of the convenience given above, I believe this tendency renders more detrimental effects on the environment and the local residents. Initially, more tourists coming to this area could exert dire consequences on pristine beauty of nature. This is because in order to attract more sightseers, areas once were pristine are now filled with excessive building of tourism-based facilities and infrastructure from tourist-oriented activities. Additionally, the arrival of many travelers from different cultures could take its toll on the local traditions and customs. In some cases, indigenous residents may copy the lifestyle brought by globetrotters, which results in the loss of native culture.

In conclusion, although green tourism can exert tremendous benefits, I think that the negative consequences that this phenomenon brings are far more significant.