Some people choose to have their first child at an older age. What are the reasons? Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

There has been a growing number of people who decide to deliver a child at later stages of life. The underlying reasons for this trend are various and I believe that the merits are surpassed by the downsides.

There are two main factors leading to the decision of delaying parenthood. To begin with, in an immensely developing world with such a hectic pace of life, more and more individuals, especially the young generation, have the propensity for prioritizing their careers over taking parental roles. This is because having a stable career before getting married and giving birth lays a sound foundation for the married life of each individual and the insurance of providing their offspring with sufficient living conditions. Additionally, women empowerment and feminism movement have altered a woman’s sole responsibility looking after the children. As a matter of fact, unlike what woman’s role was defined in the past, there is a growing number of women stamping their mark on a variety of fields, which therefore, give women rights to decide how, when and whom they want to give birth to.

However, the drawbacks should not be overlooked. Initially, the possibility of successfully having their own biological offspring is noticeably low because of the known growing risks of getting pregnant after the age of 35 years. For instance, a research published in the WHO pointed out that for women in the mid-thirty or later , there is 18% to 25% of pregnancies end in miscarriage, proving that the risk of loosing pregnancy is in direct proportion to a woman’s age. Furthermore, the problem of widening the generation gap should be considered thoroughly when making the decision of giving birth at an older age. This is because the major difference in distance and awareness of two generations is proved to negatively affect family relationships, indicated in difficulties in bridging the generation gap and resolving conflicts in different points of views.

In the light of the above facts, the occupational prioritization and women empowerment in society could be seen as the root of birth postponement and I still believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.