Nowadays, it is not only large companies that are able to make films as digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Some people hold a firm belief that not only are large corporations able to produce movies but also everyone can make a film due to the advancement of digital technology. From my perspective, although there are both favorable and detrimental impacts associated with this tendency, I personally feel that it borders on being a more harmful than beneficial development in the long term.

On the one hand, the possibility of manufacturing films for anyone thanks to the assistance of advanced technical devices is a welcome development for various reasons. The key benefit is that it is very beneficial for the entertainment market if movie producers are various. This is because they can develop their own innovation and creativity in every product, as a result, better meet the entertainment demands of each viewer. Moreover, the participation of more freelancers into this field contributes remarkably to the job market. In other words, more jobs related to manufacturing movies will be offered to more freelancers which will do wonders for the society in terms of resolving unemployment.

On the other hand, in spite of the convenience given above, I believe the involvement of more people in the production of films with the assistance of technology renders more detrimental effects. Firstly, the insurance of film quality is possibly decreased due to the fact that anyone, whether they are skilled or not, can participate in movie production. As a matter of fact, there has been reports pointing out that a numerous number of sexual and violent films with no meaningful message and artistic values are made by untrained film producers. Consequently, this will take its toll on the young generation, indicated by the increasing number of physical violence and bullying at school caused by students trying to imitate what they have been shown in movies.

In conclusion, although the tendency of making films for anyone who wants to engage in exert tremendous benefits, I think that the negative consequences that this phenomenon brings are far more significant.