The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some individuals believe that in-person communication is supplanted by the application of social media among many people in society . From my perspective, although some obvious merits can be seen in this tendency, they are, in my view, eclipsed by the considerable drawbacks.

On the one hand, there is no question that the replacement of direct interaction with social media usage has presented a number of benefits. The initial merit is that thanks to the availability of social networking sites, people now can globally connect with friends, relatives or with others sharing common interests regardless of geographical distance. For example, Instagram has applied a function of sending a follow suggestion, facilitating its users to connect and make friends with people of diverse backgrounds and personalities. Furthermore, there is a growing number of free study courses offered via live streaming service on social networking sites such as Facebook. Consequently, learners can now have free access to online classes and this has done wonders for students in terms of having better and more various sources of learning.

On the paradoxical side, among the superficial positives, I still believe there are more concerning disadvantages. Initially, as these sites are becoming more and more dominant and attract large numbers of new users every day, people are more likely to fall prey to online communication abuse, such as online bullying and harassment. For instance, it was recorded in 2017 that a Korean famous singer suicided since she was put under pressure by toxic comments from online users who body-shamed and reviled her. Additionally, the overuse of social media has been closely correlated with the growing number of health problems. As a matter of fact, the prolonged exposure to screen could fuel feelings of anxiety and isolation and also possibly cause vision loss over time.

In conclusion, despite a few benefits of the substitute of face-to-face interaction with social media, the demerits, in my opinion, are of greater significance.