Many people are now spending more and more time travelling to work or school. Some people believe that this is a negative development while others think there are some benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, there has a tendency of people dedicating a huge amount of time commuting to work or school. Some individuals believe that this will exert myriad benefits, while others express an opposing viewpoint. From my perspective, while the former view is plausible to a certain extent, I would side with those who support the former argument.

On the one hand, those who advocate that advantages gained from the trend of people spending more time on shuttling tend to point out a combination of evident merits. The initial merit is that laborers or students could take the advantage of time spent on travelling between different places to catch up on some unfinished work. For example, high school students, while shifting between home and school, could finish their homework if they were unable to complete the day before. Another advantage is that those laborers who are occupied with work could make use of commuting time on bus or train for entertainment such as listening to music or watching films . As a result, they can save a certain amount of time for recreational activities, which might be replaced by time for working or taking care of their offspring.

On the other hand, as sensible and beneficial as it is, I concur with those who advocate the view that more time wasted on the commuting process might have adverse impacts on individuals’ health and time for other activities. To begin with, individuals being stuck in traffic jams during rush hours or breathing in toxic fumes may lead to a variety of health problems. For instance, being exposed to traffic cacophony for a long time may possibly lead to headache or even hearing loss in the long run. Additionally, spending more time shifting between various places could leave less time for other more important activities. In fact, there are other more vital activities that should be spent on by individuals such as pursuing one’s hobby or spending time with loved ones.

In conclusion, as both dark and bright sides of the picture are noticed, it is understandable why many people believe that more time should be spent on traveling to work or school due to some benefits it may bring, I am convinced that the opposite is true in most contexts.