It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn about the culture of other people. We can learn just as much from books, films, and the Internet. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that there is no need of visiting other places to learn about the local culture since via books, films and the Internet, we can gain a variety of knowledge regarding this topic. To my perspective, this idea is completely ill-founded.

On the one hand, there are many sources from which everyone can learn about the culture of a place without having to visit it. Firstly, people will have a better understanding of cultural traits of a region by reading books that include pictures and descriptions about that region’s culture, such as how they cook, what local ingredients they use, or how they greet each other. Documentaries are also of great help as most of them provide the audience with sound, allowing people to hear the way that local people speak. On top of that, culture can be learned through the Internet, where people can get access to a variety of video clips and articles published by other travellers, which gives people more diverse information from different perspectives.

On the other hand, I believe that it is better for learners to pay a visit to the country whose culture they want to know more about. Although abundant, the information provided by books and movies might soon be out of date because the world is always changing, and therefore, what was written or recorded a long time ago may no longer be accurate. For instance, new fashion trends and new words are invented every year, so people need to travel to learn what local people actually wear and speak in contemporary society. Additionally, people cannot get first-hand experience when at home reading reviews posted online, instead they should get direct exposure to the culture they are curious about so that they can have their own experiences and assessment without relying on others’ subjective viewpoints.

In conclusion, despite some ample source of information from books, movies and the Internet, people need to travel to learn more about the culture of places they wish to know about.