People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

It is true that the consumption of sugary drinks is growing rapidly these days. This essay will discuss a number of reasons behind this trend as well as a variety of feasible methods to curb the rate of sugary drinks consumption in our society.

There are a range of reasons associated with the proliferation of sugar-based drinks consumed. Firstly, this kind of drink is ubiquitous now. Everybody now can keep themselves informed with information about these drinks and purchase them with ease. One obvious example is that commercial and promotion videos of high-profile conglomerates like Coca Cola or Pepsi are all the rage on social media and it is quite easy for us to approach these advertisements. It is also noticeable that all commercial complexes these days have special areas for promoting and selling sugary drinks. Therefore, it is not an uphill task to make these drinks get exposed to their prospective customers. Moreover, sugar-based drinks have vitally delicious taste which appeals to a range of consumers especially children. As a result, people tend to consume them instead of drinking healthier ones.

However, there are a variety of remedies which can be implemented to reduce the consumption of drinks containing a tremendous amount of sugar. One of them is imposing higher taxes on these commodities. This is due to the fact if the price of sugar-based merchandise increased, this would become a disincentive for purchasers to buy and consume them. Furthermore, our society should raise various campaigns to spur the general public to take the detrimental impacts of sugary drinks and benefits of healthy diets into consideration. Unless people gain a deeper insight into the negative effects of drinks containing a huge amount of sugar, they will continue to consume and drink it as much as they do currently. For instance, a host of schools in Vietnam has incorporated these knowledge into curriculums at school and most Vietnamese students acquire the comprehension of drawbacks of drinking sugar-based items including increasing the risk of obesity and other cardiovascular diseases. Consequently, this could become a deterrent for schoolchildren to drink sugary products and spur them to follow healthier diets which do wonders for their health.

In conclusion, there are a number reasons related to the increasing consumption of in our society, and some feasible methods could be taken to decrease this pattern.