Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

According to International Cultural Centre (ICC), there are more than 5,000 has established in the world. 500 of them are endangered. In the context of Indonesia, there are 50 local languages which still using by society. The Ministry of Education and Culture Republic of Indonesia have been concerning to keep all of local languages as a part of Indonesian cultural heritage.

I would like to disagree towards the omission of die out a language. Even though the purpose of the die out language numbers should give an effectiveness to communicate with others, albeit it have negative impacts towards state resiliency.

There are three reasons for strengthening my preference. Firstly, language is the identity of a nation. All of countries was functioned language not only for sources of communication, but also for keeping the national integrity and social cohesion among society. Secondly, language is a basic knowledge which used for knowing the characteristic of society. Thirdly, language is a source of national sovereignty.

Based on these reasons, some of countries have been conducting to involving local language lessons in every educational curriculum levels. Moreover, in Malaysia all of provinces were intervened by the state to promote local language not only in school, but also in various government events. In the context of Japan, for keeping their identity, the government has regulated that all of anime characters should involved a part of their cultures and languages.

In my conclusion, there are many positive way for maintaining language which endangered then tolerate to die out a language which threatened the identity of a nation.