Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, there are many languages have been disappeared and the number of it is continuing without any data, documentary about the language. Because of globalization so there are some people think this make life will be easier if mankind just need to communicate with a few common languages. However, I do not agree with this opinion.

First of all, the links between languages and cultures are too strong. As humanity loses a language as a part of culture in the world would no longer exist which means that we also lose the potential for greater diversity in arts, literature, and oral traditional. it is sources about knowledge which from many experiences of people of a long time spread out in generations. The China culture, for instant, imagine that if Chinese has disappeared, so the world would lose a huge asset about art, literature and especially martial art.

In addition, the traditional of each country or each tribe has affected from their mother tongue as the languages are oral medium. Thus, so many experiences, stories, legends or histories about the life before with local culture be conveyed from elder people to the new generations by talks in daily life. The legend about Hung King in vietnam, for example, during thousand years the children in vietnam was be told by their grandparents or their parents before it recorded on books, video… These are not forced to be told by other languages even though it can be translated to other languages but the beautiful in the legend will not be able to transmit as in Vietnamese.

In conclusion, the community between people around the world today needs a few languages. but the values of old languages will connect us from the past to future and it is extreme essential for humanity.