Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

It is true that humans are causing irreparable damages to the Earth's environment, and this will have a long-term devastating consequence to the planet. In my opinion, both governments and individuals must take immediate actions to improve the situation.

On the one hand, governments can certainly play a vital role in protecting our planet. They have the power to issue laws to discourage the use of fossil fuels, such as gas, old or coal. These are the main sources of Carbon Dioxide which is causing global warming phenomenon. In return, they can subsidise and encourage factories to use the energy from renewable sources, like sun or wind power. Furthermore, they can set a strict law to place a heavy fine, or event to ban, to manufacturers that try to release untreated industrial wastewater to the environment which will contaminate the soil and waterbody.

On the other hand, there are several activities individuals can do to significantly reduce the earth's pollution. Firstly, we can use energy in an efficient way, we need to turn off all electronic and electric devices when they are not needed. We can also try to use public transport instead of a private vehicle, and avoid using air travel when possible. Secondly, we should try to reuse and recycle things as much as possible to reduce unnecessary waste dumping to the environment. Last but not least, we would buy products with less packaging or with the packaging that made from degradable materials.

In conclusion, I believe that individuals as well as national governments need to immediately take measures to stop polluting the earth in order to protect our planet for our future generations.