A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, a few languages have gained popularity in various nations, a reverse pattern can be seen in other languages. While some people accept there are many benefits of this decision, it is thought that it has some drawbacks.

On the one hand, this trend can be disadvantageous in some ways. The main shortcoming of this decision is a lack of language diversity. This stems from a dramatic decrease in the number of people who speak local languages. Besides, the loss of minority languages not only pushes local cultures but also historical values to the verge of extinction. This can be explained by the large similarities between language and culture.

On the other hand, it seems to me that this trend should be continued because of several undeniable advantages. Firstly, it is an apparent fact that this helps governments with numerous opportunities to grow the national economy. The reduction of language barriers allows citizens between nations to trade easier. The most salient example of this is the national budget in countries which use common languages is higher than that in other countries. Another advantage could be that using common languages such as English makes it easier for people to communicate. This plays an important role in exchanging information in different sectors, including culture, social, studying, and working. This leads to people can broaden their knowledge and horizon.

In conclusion, there are some minus points of this decision, although this trend has some notable downsides.