International travel is becoming cheaper, many countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, many people claim that international travel has gained popularity and this leads to an increase in tourists. There are many negative aspects of this trend, although there are compelling reasons as to why this decision is overall a desirable trend.

On the one hand, the increase in international tourism can be disadvantageous in many ways. The main shortcoming is this increases the amount of greenhouse gas emissions. This is caused by the emissions including NO2, SO2, CH4, and CO2 is produced from transport activities such as car, plane, and ship. Besides, the number of international tourists too high can outstrip the capacity of transport systems. According to research from socialists, this is why the figure for transport congestion increases by 10 % in Ho Chi Minh city.

On the other hand, it seems to me that governments should encourage citizens to travel overseas because of some undeniable benefits. Firstly, it is an apparent fact that the growth of tourism plays an important role in developing national finance. This stems from the increase in related business activities such as food, hotel, and transport. According to the statistic from economists, the national budget will jump by 20 % if the number of tourists increases by 10 %. From cultural perspectives, another advantage could be that this provides for people with several opportunities to expose many various cultures and lifestyles. As a result, people not only broaden their knowledge and horizon but also create many new relationships.

In conclusion, there are some minus points for the increase in overseas tourists, although I am of the opinion that its advantages of this trend would be more important.