Fossil fuels (coal, oil and natural gas) are the main sources in many countries. However, in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy (wind and solar energy) are encouraged. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, using renewable energy has gained popularity and replaced fossil fuels in many nations. While I accept there are some benefits and drawbacks to this decision, I would argue that it is more beneficial to use renewable.

On the one hand, the use of renewable energy can be disadvantageous in some ways. The main shortcoming is that people struggle to adapt using alternative sources of energy. This stems from the habit of using fossil fuels in most of the daily activities such as transport and electrical production. In Viet Nam, for instance, 60% of electricity is manufactured from coal. Moreover, most of the cars produced use petroleum to active.

On the other hand, it seems to me that people should use renewable energy because of some undeniable advantages. Firstly, it is an apparent fact that the use of natural energy helps citizens to protect the environment. This is caused by the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions produced from using coal, oil, and natural gas. According to research from environmentalists, the emissions, including CO2, NO2, SO2, CH4 will dramatic decrease by 30 % if people alter un-renewable energy by natural resources. This plays an important role in fighting climate change. From energy perspectives, another advantage could be that this helps governments to meet the energy needs of people. The kinds of natural energy can be used to generate more lots of electricity than that of un-renewable energy. The most salient example of this is the amount of electricity produced from solar energy was double that of natural gas.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that there are several plus points for using renewable energy, although this decision has some downsides.