Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

It is true that nowadays there are fewer people who walk daily than previously. This causes by some reasons, and we could encourage people walk more again by addressing these causes.

There are two primary reasons why people walk less than before. One reason is that people use transport vehicles for their traveling rather than walking. These vehicles such as buses, taxis, subway trains enable people to save a lot of time on movement. Furthermore, in high-rise buildings, there are many elevators to pick people up to stages rapidly, this leads to people use elevators instead of stair. The second reason is that widening of infrastructure causes to disappear the walking areas. On the street side, many objects putting on walk way obstruct walking people. For example, the street coffee, bike parking lot occupy illegally street side which it should belong to pedestrians. From all of above reasons, people have a tendency to select a rapid & safe way for their distance.

However, people would come back to walk again if the roots of problems are solved. Firstly, people should be alarmed about health issues if they do not walk everyday. A minimum walking step requirement, which a doctor advise, is 5000 steps per day; if below this number, our body could get some issue after a short time. Secondly, authorities should make more walking route for their citizens to them have more choice in movement. Besides, the obstructions on walkways are also banned to keep these areas freely; therefore, people feel safer and ready for walking.

In conclusion, although people walk fewer today, by encouraging them with given solutions, I believe that they will walk more again in near future.